Lily Burkhead – Utility player

by Jan 18, 2022Player feature

What is a brief overview of your origin story. Where you grew up, early family situation, athletic background, school, early jobs, travel, etc?

Hi! my name is Lily Burkhead, I’m 21 years old. I was born and raised in florida, currently living in Tampa! Im a full time student at USF in the exercise science program. I used to ride horses competitively and I still have my horse now and ride for fun.

I work part time with my families construction company, and I’m also training to go to the CrossFit games. My ultimate goal is to be the fittest woman on earth, and I want to help/inspire as many people as I can along the way.

Prior to CrossFit, at 15 I started powerlifting and strongman. I competed for a while and claimed State/National/World records, along with Worlds strongest teen in 2016.… fast forward to when Covid hit that’s when I decided to pickup CrossFit, which I’ve been doing just over a year now!

When I was younger I was bullied a lot working out around 13 and just did your typically gym bro stuff. Around 15 years old, my dad had found my former powerlifting coach for me to help with horse back riding but I ended up being really strong and she asked if I wanted to try the sport out, and I said yes! The rest is history.

Thankfully, I’ve had the greatest and most supportive parents through all of this. I don’t think I’d be half the person I am now without all of the sacrifices they made for me. A big part of my drive comes from wanting to be the best I can for them. I know they don’t care whether I’m the greatest CrossFitter of all time or if I wanted to be a professional knitter, they’ll love me regardless but I still do it for them.

What is your current occupation, family situation, and focus in life?

Currently I’m in school full time and I work part time with my parents construction company. I’m also starting to get involved with GRID more, and I’m super excited!

What is something interesting that people would like to know about you?

I despise the smell of cut grass. I love McDonald’s diet cokes, unicorns (they’re majestic af).

Describe the biggest hurdle or challenge you have overcome in your life?

My eating disorder/body dysmorphia. I still struggle with it daily but I’m growing each and everyday and learning to love my body the way it is. I’m focusing more on my goals internally than how others view me.

Describe what is it like to play on your team?

It was such a fun learning experience. Everyone’s energy was amazing and they accepted me right away. Everyone was humble and kind. Supportive when needed, and just an overall great group of people.

How did you get involved in GRID? Did you come through the American Grid Trials? Tell us the story!

I got involved through one of the gym members, Cody Landrum! He reached out and asked if I wanted to be on his team, I had only been doing CrossFit for 7ish months so I was terrified but said yes anyways!

Watch Lily take on the Fort Lauderdale Lions

What is important for people to know about the sport of GRID? How does it compare to your other forms of competition?

Although it seems like it wouldn’t be that taxing oven the short duration. I can tell you, my heart rate has never been so high during a workout. It is so intense to be a player. But also it’s one of the most thrilling experiences you’ll ever have! So much different than competing individually or even on a 2/3/4 person team.